"Full and responsible discourse in a democracy does not just happen. It requires effort. It requires commitment. It requires a conscious decision to accept personal responsibility for our nation’s future."

Kristen D. Nevious, Ph.D.

Director, The Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication
Affiliated Faculty: American Studies, Mass Communication, and Public Relations
Associated Doctoral Faculty, DALS

Office of the Provost, Academic Affairs

Ph.D. in Journalism, with a primary concentration in mass media law and regulation, and secondary concentrations in constitutional history, journalism history and quantitative research methodologies and analysis, from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
M.S. in Journalism, with a theory and methodology concentration, from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
B.S. in Journalism, from Valparaiso University

Areas of Expertise

  • Civic engagement, with a focus on media use, youth engagement in political process
  • Journalism, with a focus on youth media, presidential election coverage, Office of the White House Press Secretary
  • Media and Democracy, particularly comparative media systems, influence of technology, history in America
  • Media Law, particularly as it relates to youth media
  • Political Communication, with a focus on youth media coverage of the presidential election cycle
  • Youth Media, including radio, television, print, photography, social media, sports and marketing operations

Courses Taught

  • GLE101: SPIN: The Role of the White House Press Secretary in our Democracy
  • GEL101: Media to Change the World
  • IEC330: Comparative Global Media Systems
  • IC305: Science of Society
  • MC105: Voices: Raised and Engaged
  • MC100: Communication, Media and Society
  • MC200: Rhetoric and Society
  • MC273: Writing for the Electronic Media
  • MC304: Media Law
  • MC/SO 344: American Political Culture and Media
  • MC352: Feature Writing
  • MC353: Convergent Journalism
  • MC384: Persuasion through Media
  • MK335: Public Relations
  • The Nine Muses: Pierce in Athens study abroad program, Fall 2010

Honors and Awards:

  • Kappa Tau Alpha, national journalism honor society
  • Lambda Pi Eta, national communication honor society
  • Phi Kappa Phi, national honor society
  • Awards to The Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication:
    • New England Higher Education Excellence Award, 2009
    • Citation, Governor of New Hampshire, 2009

Publications and Presentations:

  • "Beyond Creativity: Legal Issues, Logistical Support, and Distribution," as part of a larger panel entitled "Interdisciplinary Video Competition as a Carrot for Learning, at the University Film and Video Association Conference, in Boston, August 2011.
  • “The Role of Free Speech in Political Change: Models of Public Communication in the US, Greece, Turkey and Egypt,” New Hampshire Council for the Social Studies Conference in October 2011, in Manchester, NH.
  • “Finding a Voice in the Public Discourse through the Lens of a Pocket Camcorder,” New Hampshire Council for the Social Studies Conference in October 2011, in Manchester, NH.
  • Additionally, credentialed to cover NH Primary GOP Debate, St. Anselm’s College, June 2011; NH Primary GOP Debate, Dartmouth College, October 2011; NH Primary GOP Debate, St. Anselm’s College, January 2012; Republican National Convention, Tampa, 2012; Democratic National Convention, Charlotte, 2012; 2013 Presidential Inauguration. Led youth media teams in coverage for WMUR-TV 9, Manchester; The New Hampshire Union Leader; and The Monadnock Ledger-Transcript.

Institution Service or Academic Service:

  • Academic Showcase, co-chair
  • Provost’s Council, member
  • Women in Leadership Certificate Program, steering committee

Volunteer Work or Group Affiliations:

  • Professional:
    • Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
    • College Media Association
    • International Communication Association
    • National Communication Association
    • Society of Professional Journalists
  • Volunteer:
    • Boy Scouts of America, Troop 405: committee member, advancement coordinator
    • New Hampshire Public Television Community Advisory Board: vice-chair